ThrillerFest 2015

Posted on Updated on

I know I have been MIA for months, but it was for a good and very personal reason. Now that everything is resolved, I’m starting up again. Within the last few months, I have been to ThrillerFest in July and after that is when something occurred that needed my full time and attention.

ThrillerFest

ThrillerFest is Manhattan and is one of the best writer conferences I have been to. It’s also where I pitched my novel, THE WHISPERING.

NYC 1    NYC 2

After PitchFest, which was really brutal. I’m the type of person has a hard time communicating verbally about books or movies or my feelings. I stutter when I get nervous, and sitting in front of agents and pitching them my novel. After that very stressful afternoon, I did fine as it turns out. Not just that though, an agent (who I did not pitch) gave me the best advice I wish I had before I went into Pitch Session.

The Advice was: APPROACH YOUR PITCH LIKE A GOOD PIECE OF GOSSIP. MAKE IT JUICY ENOUGH THAT THE AGENT/EDITOR WILL WANT TO PASS IT ON.

I was really good at gossip from middle school to high school, so that advice would have worked better than my really crappy logline and pitch that came out of a trembling voice.

After PitchFest was the rest of ThrillerFest. It was interviews and panels of authors, including Lee Childs and Christopher Rice.

The Young Adult Panel was the most interesting to me.

ThrillerFest Event 1

Included on the panel was Kelley ArmstrongCJ Lyons, Elle Cosimano, and RL Stine.

Charleine Harris and Karen Slaughter

Karin Slaughter interviewing Charlaine Harris.

It was an interesting conference, but it really wasn’t for young adult writers. That was a bit of a problem for me. I write YA and I mainly read YA, and they were talking about genres like military thrillers. Frankly, subjects I’m not interested in. ThrillerFest is good for people who aren’t interested in young adult.

Leave a Reply

