Music to Write By and Querying

Posted on Updated on

I have recently finished and queried a young adult horror novel. I’m sitting here, like,

embarrassed

I have agents reading my work, and it’s worse than a freaking blind date! I want to tell you all about my novel. I want to be like i’m here world! Read this! In reality, I’m trying to act like I’ve got this.

superman

And whenever someone asks me about my novel, I’m like, “Yeah dude. I got this.”

screaming

In reality, I’m back in my shell, trying to think about my novel in the hands of wicked awesome agents who could say no.

hiding

A friend of mine (who writes New Adult and you should totally buy her freaking awesome books, because I’m not a fan of New Adult, but I love her work) gave me the best advice. Start a new project!

I have so many ideas, that I’m like, oookkayyy…

Castle

So where do I start? A playlist, which inevitably gets modified as I go along. Here is the playlist for novel that I’m querying.

  1. MERCY, Duffy
  2. I PUT A SPELL ON YOU, Jeff Beck (featuring Joss Stone)
  3. FEELS LIKE RAIN, John Hiatt
  4. IN THE STILL OF THE NIGHT, The Five Satins
  5. ALL I WANT, Kodaline
  6. STAY WITH ME, Sam Smith
  7. YELLOW, Coldplay
  8. CREEP, Stone Temple Pilots
  9. DEMONS, Imagine Dragons
  10. HURT, Johnny Cash
  11. PEOPLE ARE STRANGE, The Doors
  12. RUNAWAY TRAIN, Soul Asylum
  13. COMING FOR YOU, The Offspring
  14. EVIL WAYS, Blues Saraceno
  15. QUIET LITTLE VOICES, We Were Promised Jetpacks
  16. SUITE FOR SOLO CELLO NO. 1 (PRELUDE), Yo-Yo Ma
  17. LIGHTNING CRASHES, Live
  18. PUSH THE BUTTON, Amy Lee
  19. SEVEN DEVILS, Florence and the Machine
  20. THE PRETENDER, Foo Fighters
  21. THE GHOST OF YOU, My Chemical Romance
  22. BRING ME TO LIFE, Evanescence
  23. ONE WAY OR ANOTHER, Blondie
  24. NICE WORK IF YOU CAN GET IT, Fred Astaire

How do you start a new work in progress?

Leave a Reply

