To the Movie Critics: Why All The Hate?

Posted on Updated on

Why all the hate, movie critics? Seriously, I know it’s your job to torpedo a movie through well placed words, even if it’s not a movie you would go see if it hadn’t been assigned to you. For example, the 5th Wave.

5th wave

Yesterday, my sister and I went to see the 5Th Wave. I don’t think I have to go into the synopsis, as it is based upon a young adult novel by Rick Yancey. It worth the read, but when I went onto rottentomatoes.com, I was pretty bummed that only 17% of critics liked it.

Really? 17% liked it? What about Twilight?

Twilight sign

Twilight at 48% of rotten! Like I said, where is the love?

Twilight

Here are a sample of what was said by critics about the 5th Wave movie:

Screen Shot 2016-01-29 at 11.42.13 AM

eye roll

Screen Shot 2016-01-29 at 11.43.10 AM

200.gif

Can I just say that the N.R.A. (FYI: I hate the N.R.A.) has NOTHING to do in the 5th Wave, and if aliens did attack, I’m sure you would love to get your hands on one of them! I know I would.

Screen Shot 2016-01-29 at 11.42.27 AM

200.gif

Nope.  Alex Roe was good too.

Screen Shot 2016-01-29 at 11.43.21 AMScreen Shot 2016-01-29 at 11.42.53 AMScreen Shot 2016-01-29 at 11.41.54 AMScreen Shot 2016-01-29 at 11.41.23 AMScreen Shot 2016-01-29 at 11.41.12 AM

Here We Go

Right……….

Screen Shot 2016-01-29 at 11.40.29 AM

for sale

You people who love YA, sci/fi, dystopia sound like mindless drones with a for sale sign on our faces. Like we don’t know what a good movie is. By the way, we can think for ourselves.

Screen Shot 2016-01-29 at 11.40.52 AM

Oh for the love that is holy!

Princess Eye Roll

Stop comparing every book and every movie that is in the young adult genre to Twilight!

stop

Not cool, because each stories are different. Yes, some stories uses old tropes and cliches, but they are not Twilight!

While some were mean, indifferent, or who was only at the movie so they could get a paycheck, some reviewers had nice things to say:

Screen Shot 2016-01-29 at 11.40.04 AMScreen Shot 2016-01-29 at 11.39.53 AM

Right. Well, my sister and I really liked it. We would give it 3 out of 4 stars. Someone parts were really funny, and I’m unsure whether they were meant to be funny or not. The acting is good.

We laughed about the army being trustworthy, because my sister is a vet and she yelled out: “Bull shit.” I knew, because I read the book. Still it was a funny moment that the others in the theater didn’t appreciate.

My point: Go see the movie and find out if you like it or not. Like books, movies are all subjective. I may love something that you don’t. That is okay! Don’t go by people who are paid to be cranky and find the worst in everything except artsy films like The Artist. 

 

Leave a Reply

